A truly world-class rant. And all because of a missing ‘a’.

July 24, 2008

As a copywriter I’m used to people changing bits and pieces of my copy. When I enter into writing for anyone I realise that they have final approval. The buck stops with the client. I can only advise them of what, in my humble opinion, is the best way to say something.
Sometimes it makes you disappointed to realise that the last line of a piece of copy has been changed, as you normally build the copy to your last line. It’s normally the final flourish of your argument, and you’ve spent the previous several hundred words setting things up for this last point. But, like I say, you get over it and move onto the next piece. It’s what I believe we call the real world.
Not so if you write as a journalist for a living (and I realise that there’s a difference; they get paid for their opinions, I get paid to put forward my clients’ opinions). Take, for example, the email that Giles Coren sent off to the sub editors that worked on a piece he submitted to The Times. I should, however, warn you that if swearing offends you, you’d best stop reading here. Because Mr Coren is truly world-class when it comes to expletives (he’s pretty handy with the full deck of the English language, but he truly surpasses himself with his swearing on this occasion.) Read the article here.

A handbook not required by Mr Giles Coren

A handbook not required by Mr Giles Coren

Don’t get me wrong I totally understand where he’s coming from. But I’d advise that he has a cup of tea /walk round the block/ packet of Mogadon before he fires off a reply in future. Because no matter how talented you are, there’s only so much that people are willing to take. And once you gain a reputation it’s very hard to put the genie back in the bottle (so to speak).
And, just in case by some weird fluke Giles Coren happens to read this, I was only kidding in the headline. I realise it’s not just a letter ‘a’ that’s missing, but you don’t seem to realise that when you let your anger out it tends to come back and bite you on the bum. Again, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

